Big Joe Turner The Essential '40s Collection 2-CD Set

Big Joe Turner

Big Joe Turner The Essential '40s Collection 2-CD Set

Available On CD
Regular Price: $19.98
Sale Price: $16.98
Add to Cart

Big Joe Turner was one of the great blues shouters of the post-war era, and was one of those artists that bridged the gap from R&B to rock 'n' roll, his recordings of "Chains Of Love" and "Shake, Rattle and Roll" in the early '50s being precursors of the commercial revolution to come. This 54-track 2-CD set focuses on his formative years ' a decade and more (the collection includes his early recordings from the late '30s) spent working with a variety of line-ups, the consistency and ebullience of his performance and his ability to work with jazz and blues performers alike attracting some of the best accompanists and solists of his time. This anthology combines material previously released on Acrobat's two "Forties" CDs on the Fabulous label, with another eighteen tracks added, and encompasses a significant number of his important sessions from 1938-49. The booklet provides comprehensive detail of recording dates, titles and musicians on each session. It is presented chronologically to see the progression of his work, although from start to finish, Big Joe just does what he did best ' deliver the songs with humour, defiance and joy.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
    • Going Away Blues
    • Roll 'Em Pete'
    • Cherry Red
    • How Long, How Long Blues
    • Shake it and break it
    • Lowdown Dirty Shame
    • I Can't Give You Anything But Love
    • Joe Turner Blues
    • Beale Street Blues
    • Piney Brown Blues'
    • Ice Man
    • Somebody's got to go
    • Chew'd Up Grass
    • Rocks In My Bed
    • Goin' To Chicago Blues
    • Blues On Central Avenue
    • Sun Rising Blues
    • Blues in the night
    • Cry Baby Blues
    • I Got A Gal For Everyday In The Week
    • Little Bittie Gal's Blues
    • It's The Same Old Story
    • Rebecca
    • SK Blues (Part 1)
    • SK Blues (Part 2)
    • Johnson And Turner Blues
Disc 2:
    • Watch That Jive
    • My Gal's' A Jockey
    • I Got My Discharge Papers
    • I'm Still In The Dark
    • Miss Brown Blues
    • Sally-Zu-Zass
    • That's when it really hurts
    • Around The Clock Blues (Part 1)'
    • Around The Clock Blues (Part 2)'
    • Morning Glory
    • Low Down Dog
    • Hollywood Bed (Cherry Red Blues)
    • Radar Blues
    • Trouble Blues
    • Wine O Baby Boogie
    • B&O Blues
    • Christmas Date Boogie
    • Tell Me Pretty Baby (How D'ya Want Your Rollin' Done)'
    • Old Piney Brown's Gone
    • Baby Won't You Marry Me
    • My Heart Belongs To You
    • I Don't Dig It
    • Rainy Weather Blues
    • Boogie Woogie Baby
    • Born To Gamble
    • Wish I Had A Dollar
    • Fuzzy Wuzzy Honey
    • Ooh Ouch stop