Johnson's Whacks CD

Jimmy Johnson

Johnson's Whacks CD

Delmark Records. When Jimmy Johnson's first album, Johnson's Whacks hit the streets at the end of the seventies, he was heralded as being part of a new blues generation that could actually write fully-realized, mature SONGS (as opposed to borrowing or stealing jukebox standards).

Available On CD
Price: $16.98
Add to Cart

"Simply devastating," says Robert Palmer in Rolling Stone

"The hight point of the series...a revelation," writes Peter Guralnick in the Boston Phoenix

"My pick for the series' most valuable player," opines Steve Hoffman in the Unicorn Times

and according to Living Blues co-editor Jim O'Neal, "He's one of the modern Chicago blues idiom's most impressive singers and guitarists, a progressive stylist who combines technical expertise with soaring, gospel-influenced vocals."

what did Downbeat call them..."Steamrolling"

--Steve Tomashefsky, 1979

Song List:
1. The Twelve Bar Blues
2. Ashes In My Ashtray
3. I Stand Alone
4. Slamming Doors
5. Take Five
6. Strange How I Miss You (When I Haven't Even Lost You Yet)
7. Poor Boy's Dream
8. I Need Some Easy Money
9. Drivin' Nails In My Coffin
10. Jockey Sports