The Alligator Records 20th Anniversary Collection

Various Artists/Anthologies

The Alligator Records 20th Anniversary Collection

Two CDs for the price of one, with 35 tracks from 1971-1991. Includes 20-page book. Our all-time best seller.

No Longer Available on CD
Also Available Digitally:
Download on iTunes Buy from Amazon
1. Give Me Back My Wig 3:31
2. No Cuttin' Loose 3:20
3. Black Cat Bone 4:54
4. Big Chief 3:13
5. That's Why I'm Crying 4:20
6. Double Eyed Whammy 3:20
7. I'm Free 5:18
8. These Blues Is Killing Me 3:05
9. Rain 5:11
10. Look But Don't Touch 3:16
11. Fannie Mae 3:16
12. Serves Me Right To Suffer 3:56
13. Leavin' 3:10
14. Born In Louisiana 3:50
15. Leaving Your Town 3:15
16. Drowning On Dry Land 6:18
17. If I Hadn’t Been High 4:07
18. Trouble In Mind 4:37
1. Brick 4:35
2. Pussycat Moan 6:05
3. You Don't Exist Any More 4:01
4. Second Hand Man 4:00
5. I've Got Dreams To Remember 4:26
6. Going Down To Big Mary's 2:54
7. 300 Pounds of Heavenly Joy 3:05
8. Going Back Home 7:04
9. Strike Like Lightning 3:39
10. The Middle Aged Blues Boogie 5:42
11. Eyeballin' 3:42
12. Full Moon On Main Street 4:21
13. Crow Jane 3:46
14. I'm The Zydeco Man 2:55
15. You Don't Know What Love Is 3:50
16. Blues After Hours 5:01
17. Boot Hill 3:35

The perfect introduction to the first 20 years of Alligator's recordings, this two-CD set contains over 170 minutes of our best recordings.  The 35 songs fill two full discs, and you get them all for the price of one disc!  From Hound Dog Taylor's 1971 classic, "Give Me Back My Wig," to 1991 recordings by Kenny Neal and Elvin Bishop, each track was chosen by Alligator's founder, Bruce Iglauer. 

The blues sounds and styles on this collection range from the totally raw, electrified slide attack of Hound Dog to the jumping horn-driven R&B of Big Twist to the zydeco accordion of Clifton Chenier to the acoustic sounds and witty lyrics of Saffire-The Uppity Blues Women to the fiery blues/rock of Johnny Winter and Lonnie Mack. These two discs showcase virtually every style of contemporary blues. 

In addition to the great music, a lavish booklet contains 18 pages of Iglauer's personal reminiscences of the artists and records, plus15 photos, some never before published. 

The Alligator Records 20th Anniversary Collection is the best-selling recording in Alligator's history.  Its selection of classic performances continues to please blues fans worldwide. Along with our 25th Anniversary Collection, it's the perfect starting point for building any blues collection, and the best way for you to sample the full range of our blues talent.