Seven Alligator Artists Receive Six Blues Music Awards


 On Thursday, May 9, The Blues Foundation announced the winners of the 40th Annual Blues Music Awards, the blues world's highest honors. Seven Alligator recording artists received a total of six awards.

Powerhouse vocalist Shemekia Copeland won two awards for her groundbreaking 2018 album, America's Child: Album Of The Year and Contemporary Blues Album Of The Year. Legendary guitarist and soulful vocalist Joe Louis Walker, harmonica master Giles Robson and piano virtuoso Bruce Katz won the Acoustic Album Of The Year Award for their critically acclaimed 2018 release, Journeys To The Heart Of The Blues. Celebrated guitarist Nick Moss and harmonica giant Dennis Gruenling (of The Nick Moss Band Featuring Dennis Gruenling) both won awards -- Moss for Traditional Blues Male Artist Of The Year and Gruenling for Best Instrumentalist -- Harmonica. Recent Austin City Limits Hall Of Famer Marcia Ball won for Best Instrumentalist -- Piano, the eleventh Blues Music Award of her career.

The 40th Annual Blues Music Awards were presented in Memphis at the Cook Convention Center.